People in a class

Find A Class Near You

Showing 70 results for all classes sorted by date

A Matter of Balance

June 11, 2019 - July 30, 2019
8:00 AM - 10:00 AM

Adult Community Center

Cost: Free of Charge
Class Leader: Susan Sammons

Contact Name: Susie Sammons
Contact Phone: 5075379234

Tuesday, June 11, 2019 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Tuesday, June 18, 2019 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Tuesday, June 25, 2019 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Tuesday, July 2, 2019 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Tuesday, July 9, 2019 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Tuesday, July 16, 2019 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Tuesday, July 23, 2019 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Tuesday, July 30, 2019 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM

A Matter of Balance is an award-winning program designed for older adults to manage falls and increase activity levels. Two trained coaches guide participants through learning and activities that emphasize strategies to reduce fear of falling and increase activity levels among older adults. Participants show improved balance, flexibility and strength while viewing falls as controllable.

Register

Tai Ji Quan: Moving for Better Balance

June 24, 2019 - September 12, 2019
10:00 AM - 11:00 AM

Cost: Free of Charge
Class Leader: Misook Kim

Contact Name: Meelee Kim
Contact Email: meeleesuk@gmail.com
Contact Phone: 6123421345

Monday, June 24, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, June 27, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, July 1, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, July 4, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, July 8, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, July 11, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, July 15, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, July 18, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, July 22, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, July 25, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, July 29, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, August 1, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, August 5, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, August 8, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, August 12, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, August 15, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, August 19, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, August 22, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, August 26, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, August 29, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, September 2, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, September 5, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, September 9, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, September 12, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM

Tai Ji Quan: Moving for Better Balance® (TJQMBB) is an evidence-based fall prevention program designed for older adults developed by Fuzhong Li, Ph.D., Senior Scientist at the Oregon Research Institute. TJQMBB represents a substantive enhancement of traditional Tai Ji Quan as it transforms martial arts movements into a therapeutic regimen aimed at improving postural stability, awareness and mindful control of body positioning, functional walking, movement symmetry and coordination, range of motion around the ankle and hip joints and lower - extremity muscle strength.

Register

Stay Active and Independent for Life

July 08, 2019 - August 30, 2019
2:00 PM - 3:00 PM

Cost: Free
Class Leaders: Melissa Wentzel, Morgan Endriss

Contact Name: Melissa Wentzel
Contact Phone: 320-214-5622

Monday, July 8, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday, July 10, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday, July 12, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Monday, July 15, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday, July 17, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday, July 19, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Monday, July 22, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday, July 24, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday, July 26, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Monday, July 29, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday, July 31, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday, August 2, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Monday, August 5, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday, August 7, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday, August 9, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Monday, August 12, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday, August 14, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday, August 16, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Monday, August 19, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday, August 23, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Monday, August 26, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday, August 28, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday, August 30, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM

Stay Active and Independent for Life (SAIL) is a strength, balance and fitness program for adults 65 and older. Performing exercises that improve strength, balance and fitness is the single most important activity adults can do to stay active and reduce their chances of falling. The entire curriculum of activities in the Stay Active and Independent for Life (SAIL) program can help improve strength and balance, if done regularly.

Register

Living Well With Diabetes

July 10, 2019 - August 14, 2019
1:00 PM - 3:30 PM

Maple Grove Community Center

Cost: Free of Charge
Class Leaders: Nicky Mack, Mindy Ouellette, Shanna Johnson

Contact Name: Mindy Ouellette
Contact Phone: 763-581-5580

Wednesday, July 10, 2019 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Wednesday, July 17, 2019 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Wednesday, July 24, 2019 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Wednesday, July 31, 2019 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Wednesday, August 7, 2019 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Wednesday, August 14, 2019 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM

People with type 2 diabetes attend the class in groups of 12-16. Classes are facilitated from a highly detailed manual by two trained Leaders, one or both of whom are peer leaders with diabetes themselves. Participants will make weekly action plans, share experiences, and help each other solve problems they encounter in creating and carrying out their self-management program. Physicians, diabetes educators, dietitians, and other health professionals both at Stanford and in the community, have reviewed all materials in the class.

Register

Stepping On

July 11, 2019 - August 22, 2019
1:30 PM - 3:30 PM

Cost: Free of Charge
Class Leaders: Mindy Ouellette, Nicole Lundgren

Contact Name: Nicole Lundgren
Contact Phone: 763-581-5892

Thursday, July 11, 2019 1:30 PM - 3:30 PM
Thursday, July 18, 2019 1:30 PM - 3:30 PM
Thursday, July 25, 2019 1:30 PM - 3:30 PM
Thursday, August 1, 2019 1:30 PM - 3:30 PM
Thursday, August 8, 2019 1:30 PM - 3:30 PM
Thursday, August 15, 2019 1:30 PM - 3:30 PM
Thursday, August 22, 2019 1:30 PM - 3:30 PM

Stepping On is designed specifically for people who are: 1) at risk of falling, 2) have a fear of falling, or 3) who have fallen one or more times. Participants meet for two hours a week for seven weeks. Classes are facilitated by trained Leaders and provide a safe and positive learning experience. Classes are highly participative; mutual support and success build participants’ confidence in their ability to manage their health behaviors, reduce their risk of falls, and maintain active and fulfilling lives.

Register

Tai Ji Quan: Moving for Better Balance

July 15, 2019 - October 07, 2019
3:30 PM - 4:30 PM

Cost: 60
Class Leader: Gregory LaDouceur

Contact Name: Donna Karis
Contact Phone: 651-430-4697

Monday, July 15, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday, July 17, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Monday, July 22, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday, July 24, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Monday, July 29, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday, July 31, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Monday, August 5, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday, August 7, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Monday, August 12, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday, August 14, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Monday, August 19, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Monday, August 26, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday, August 28, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday, September 4, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Monday, September 9, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday, September 11, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Monday, September 16, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday, September 18, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Monday, September 23, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday, September 25, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Monday, September 30, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday, October 2, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Monday, October 7, 2019 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM

Tai Ji Quan: Moving for Better Balance® (TJQMBB) is an evidence-based fall prevention program designed for older adults developed by Fuzhong Li, Ph.D., Senior Scientist at the Oregon Research Institute. TJQMBB represents a substantive enhancement of traditional Tai Ji Quan as it transforms martial arts movements into a therapeutic regimen aimed at improving postural stability, awareness and mindful control of body positioning, functional walking, movement symmetry and coordination, range of motion around the ankle and hip joints and lower - extremity muscle strength.

Notes:
Advanced class for those who have completed a prior Tai Ji Quan beginner class. Contact Greg at 651-439-1234 ext 44248 with questions.Please go to www.lakeviewhealth.org/classes to register or call 651-430-4697. Advanced registration required. The cl [. . .]

Register

Diabetes Prevention Program

July 17, 2019 - October 30, 2019
12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

Cost: Free of Charge
Class Leader: Stacy Besonen

Contact Name: Brenda Christensen
Contact Phone: 763-684-7025

Wednesday, July 17, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, July 24, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, July 31, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, August 7, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, August 14, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, August 28, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, September 4, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, September 11, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, September 18, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, September 25, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, October 2, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, October 9, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, October 16, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, October 23, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday, October 30, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

National Diabetes Prevention Program (NDPP) is a collaborative, community-based, lifestyle change program designed for people with pre-diabetes. It is based on the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s curriculum and National Diabetes Prevention Recognition standards. Hundreds of in-person and online lifestyle change programs nationwide teach participants to make lasting lifestyle changes, like eating healthier, adding physical activity into their daily routine, and improving coping skills.

Register

Living Well With Chronic Conditions

August 06, 2019 - September 10, 2019
2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Fond du Lac Community Center

Cost: Free of Charge
Class Leaders: Barb Heikkila, Gina Olson

Contact Name: Barb Heikkila
Contact Phone: 218-878-2141

Tuesday, August 6, 2019 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday, August 13, 2019 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday, August 20, 2019 2:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday, August 27, 2019 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday, September 3, 2019 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday, September 10, 2019 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Living Well with Chronic Conditions is designed to improve the self-management skills of people living with ongoing health issues. Conditions like arthritis, mental health conditions, chronic pain, cancer, or diabetes can cause those affected to lose physical conditioning and suffer health problems over many years. This program teaches new strategies that will give participants the confidence, motivation, and skills needed to manage living with a chronic health condition.

Register

Tai Ji Quan: Moving for Better Balance

August 07, 2019 - October 25, 2019
2:00 PM - 3:00 PM

Cost: $30
Class Leader: Alicia Reardon

Contact Name: Alicia Reardon
Contact Phone: 218-616-3008

Wednesday, August 7, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday, August 9, 2019 8:30 AM - 9:30 AM
Wednesday, August 14, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday, August 16, 2019 8:30 AM - 9:30 AM
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday, August 23, 2019 8:30 AM - 9:30 AM
Wednesday, August 28, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday, August 30, 2019 8:30 AM - 9:30 AM
Wednesday, September 4, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday, September 6, 2019 8:30 AM - 9:30 AM
Wednesday, September 11, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday, September 13, 2019 8:30 AM - 9:30 AM
Wednesday, September 18, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday, September 20, 2019 8:30 AM - 9:30 AM
Wednesday, September 25, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday, September 27, 2019 8:30 AM - 9:30 AM
Wednesday, October 2, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday, October 4, 2019 8:30 AM - 9:30 AM
Wednesday, October 9, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday, October 11, 2019 8:30 AM - 9:30 AM
Wednesday, October 16, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday, October 18, 2019 8:30 AM - 9:30 AM
Wednesday, October 23, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday, October 25, 2019 8:30 AM - 9:30 AM

Tai Ji Quan: Moving for Better Balance® (TJQMBB) is an evidence-based fall prevention program designed for older adults developed by Fuzhong Li, Ph.D., Senior Scientist at the Oregon Research Institute. TJQMBB represents a substantive enhancement of traditional Tai Ji Quan as it transforms martial arts movements into a therapeutic regimen aimed at improving postural stability, awareness and mindful control of body positioning, functional walking, movement symmetry and coordination, range of motion around the ankle and hip joints and lower - extremity muscle strength.

Register

Stepping On

September 05, 2019 - October 17, 2019
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Allina Health Mercy Hospital- Unity Campus Education Building

Cost: $10
Class Leader: Sarah Loch

Contact Name: Christine Wellner
Contact Phone: 612-262-7638

Thursday, September 5, 2019 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Thursday, September 12, 2019 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Thursday, September 19, 2019 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Thursday, September 26, 2019 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Thursday, October 3, 2019 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Thursday, October 10, 2019 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Thursday, October 17, 2019 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Stepping On is designed specifically for people who are: 1) at risk of falling, 2) have a fear of falling, or 3) who have fallen one or more times. Participants meet for two hours a week for seven weeks. Classes are facilitated by trained Leaders and provide a safe and positive learning experience. Classes are highly participative; mutual support and success build participants’ confidence in their ability to manage their health behaviors, reduce their risk of falls, and maintain active and fulfilling lives.

Notes:
Please bring $10 cash or check to first class. Checks can be made out to Mercy Hospital

Register
Previous 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next