People in a class

Find A Class Near You

Showing 83 results for all classes sorted by date

Tai Ji Quan: Moving for Better Balance

January 08, 2019 - April 12, 2019
12:30 PM - 1:30 PM

First Lutheran Church

Cost: Free of Charge
Class Leader: Denise Gaard

Contact Name: Denise Gaard
Contact Phone: 218-847-5656

Tuesday, January 8, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Friday, January 11, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Tuesday, January 15, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Friday, January 18, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Tuesday, January 22, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Friday, January 25, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Tuesday, January 29, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Friday, February 1, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Tuesday, February 5, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Friday, February 8, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Tuesday, February 12, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Friday, February 15, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Tuesday, February 19, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Friday, February 22, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Tuesday, March 12, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Friday, March 15, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Tuesday, March 19, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Friday, March 22, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Tuesday, March 26, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Friday, March 29, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Tuesday, April 2, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Friday, April 5, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Tuesday, April 9, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Friday, April 12, 2019 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM

Tai Ji Quan: Moving for Better Balance® (TJQMBB) is an evidence-based fall prevention program designed for older adults developed by Fuzhong Li, Ph.D., Senior Scientist at the Oregon Research Institute. TJQMBB represents a substantive enhancement of traditional Tai Ji Quan as it transforms martial arts movements into a therapeutic regimen aimed at improving postural stability, awareness and mindful control of body positioning, functional walking, movement symmetry and coordination, range of motion around the ankle and hip joints and lower - extremity muscle strength.

Register

A Matter of Balance

January 09, 2019 - February 27, 2019
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Cost: $10 suggested
Class Leaders: Kala Hotakainen, Rebecca Nelson

Contact Name: Kala Hotakainen
Contact Phone: 6129982248

Wednesday, January 9, 2019 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Wednesday, January 16, 2019 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Wednesday, January 23, 2019 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Wednesday, January 30, 2019 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Wednesday, February 6, 2019 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Wednesday, February 13, 2019 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Wednesday, February 20, 2019 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Wednesday, February 27, 2019 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM

A Matter of Balance is an award-winning program designed for older adults to manage falls and increase activity levels. Two trained coaches guide participants through learning and activities that emphasize strategies to reduce fear of falling and increase activity levels among older adults. Participants show improved balance, flexibility and strength while viewing falls as controllable.

Notes:
This class is open only to residents of Parkway Gardens.

Register

Living Well With Chronic Pain

January 09, 2019 - February 13, 2019
12:30 PM - 3:00 PM

Cost: Free of Charge
Class Leader: Karla Patrick

Contact Name: Karla Patrick
Contact Phone: 763-688-9925

Wednesday, January 9, 2019 12:30 PM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday, January 16, 2019 12:30 PM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday, January 23, 2019 12:30 PM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday, January 30, 2019 12:30 PM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday, February 6, 2019 12:30 PM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday, February 13, 2019 12:30 PM - 3:00 PM

Chronic Pain Self-Management is a group class designed to help participants live a healthy life with chronic pain by managing their symptoms. This program teaches new strategies that will give participants the confidence, motivation, and skills needed to manage living with chronic pain. Classes are highly participative, where mutual support and success build the participants’ confidence in their ability to manage their health and maintain active and fulfilling lives.

Register

Living Well With Chronic Conditions

January 09, 2019 - February 13, 2019
1:00 PM - 3:00 PM

Fond du Lac Community Center

Cost: Free of Charge
Class Leader: LeeAnna Stock-Luoma

Contact Name: LeeAnna Stock-Luoma
Contact Email: leeannastock@fdl.rez
Contact Phone: 218-279-4108

Wednesday, January 9, 2019 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday, January 16, 2019 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday, January 23, 2019 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday, January 30, 2019 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday, February 6, 2019 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday, February 13, 2019 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM

Living Well with Chronic Conditions is designed to improve the self-management skills of people living with ongoing health issues. Conditions like arthritis, mental health conditions, chronic pain, cancer, or diabetes can cause those affected to lose physical conditioning and suffer health problems over many years. This program teaches new strategies that will give participants the confidence, motivation, and skills needed to manage living with a chronic health condition.

Notes:
participants must meet eligibility requirement

Register

Diabetes Prevention Program

January 09, 2019 - December 11, 2019
4:30 PM - 6:00 PM

Annandale Health & Wellness Center

Cost: $30
Class Leaders: Alison Dudek, Ellie Vanasse

Contact Name: Terri Burkhart
Contact Phone: 763-682-7516

Wednesday, January 9, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, January 16, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, January 23, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, January 30, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, February 6, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, February 13, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, February 20, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, February 27, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, March 6, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, March 13, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, March 27, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, April 3, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, April 10, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, April 17, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, April 24, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, May 8, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, June 12, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, July 10, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, August 14, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, September 11, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, October 9, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, November 13, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday, December 11, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM

National Diabetes Prevention Program (NDPP) is a collaborative, community-based, lifestyle change program designed for people with pre-diabetes. It is based on the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s curriculum and National Diabetes Prevention Recognition standards. Hundreds of in-person and online lifestyle change programs nationwide teach participants to make lasting lifestyle changes, like eating healthier, adding physical activity into their daily routine, and improving coping skills.

Register

Diabetes Prevention Program

January 09, 2019 - January 08, 2020
4:45 PM - 5:45 PM

Cost: $0
Class Leader: Tori Harvey

Contact Name: Emily Ranta
Contact Email: eranta@duluthymca.org
Contact Phone: 2187224745

Wednesday, January 9, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, January 16, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, January 23, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, January 30, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, February 6, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, February 13, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, February 20, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, February 27, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, March 6, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, March 13, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, March 27, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, April 3, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, April 17, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, April 24, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, May 8, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, May 22, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, June 12, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, July 3, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, July 24, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, August 14, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, September 4, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, October 2, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, November 6, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, December 4, 2019 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM
Wednesday, January 8, 2020 4:45 PM - 5:45 PM

National Diabetes Prevention Program (NDPP) is a collaborative, community-based, lifestyle change program designed for people with pre-diabetes. It is based on the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s curriculum and National Diabetes Prevention Recognition standards. Hundreds of in-person and online lifestyle change programs nationwide teach participants to make lasting lifestyle changes, like eating healthier, adding physical activity into their daily routine, and improving coping skills.

Notes:
Class meets every week for 17 weeks (no class April 10), then transitions to every 2-3 weeks, then to 1x/month over the course of one year. Day and time will remain unchanged throughout the year, however meeting dates may change after initial 17 wee [. . .]

Register

Living Well With Chronic Conditions

January 10, 2019 - February 14, 2019
1:00 PM - 3:30 PM

Cost: Free of Charge
Class Leaders: Cheryl Bisping, Lauren Pipkin

Contact Name: Cheryl Bisping
Contact Phone: 218-312-3012

Thursday, January 10, 2019 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Thursday, January 17, 2019 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Thursday, January 24, 2019 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Thursday, January 31, 2019 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Thursday, February 7, 2019 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Thursday, February 14, 2019 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM

Living Well with Chronic Conditions is designed to improve the self-management skills of people living with ongoing health issues. Conditions like arthritis, mental health conditions, chronic pain, cancer, or diabetes can cause those affected to lose physical conditioning and suffer health problems over many years. This program teaches new strategies that will give participants the confidence, motivation, and skills needed to manage living with a chronic health condition.

Notes:
All participants will receive a copy of the book, “Living a Healthy Life with Chronic Conditions.”

Register

Diabetes Prevention Program

January 10, 2019 - April 25, 2019
1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

SMILES Center for Independent Living

Cost: Free of Charge
Class Leaders: Katie Cachiaras, Jen Wunderlich

Contact Name: Kathryn Simon
Contact Phone: 5073865591

Thursday, January 10, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, January 17, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, January 24, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, January 31, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, February 7, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, February 14, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, February 21, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, February 28, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, March 7, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, March 14, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, March 21, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, March 28, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, April 4, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, April 11, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, April 18, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, April 25, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

National Diabetes Prevention Program (NDPP) is a collaborative, community-based, lifestyle change program designed for people with pre-diabetes. It is based on the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s curriculum and National Diabetes Prevention Recognition standards. Hundreds of in-person and online lifestyle change programs nationwide teach participants to make lasting lifestyle changes, like eating healthier, adding physical activity into their daily routine, and improving coping skills.

Register

Stepping On

January 14, 2019 - February 25, 2019
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM

North Memorial Health - Maple Grove Medical Center

Cost: $15
Class Leader: Sheila Nesbitt

Contact Name: Sheila Nesbitt
Contact Phone: 763-581-3740

Monday, January 14, 2019 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Monday, January 21, 2019 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Monday, January 28, 2019 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Monday, February 4, 2019 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Monday, February 11, 2019 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Monday, February 18, 2019 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Monday, February 25, 2019 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Stepping On is designed specifically for people who are: 1) at risk of falling, 2) have a fear of falling, or 3) who have fallen one or more times. Participants meet for two hours a week for seven weeks. Classes are facilitated by trained Leaders and provide a safe and positive learning experience. Classes are highly participative; mutual support and success build participants’ confidence in their ability to manage their health behaviors, reduce their risk of falls, and maintain active and fulfilling lives.

Notes:
Class will meet in the Medical Center Conference Room (Lower Level). Covered parking available.

Register

Tai Ji Quan: Moving for Better Balance

January 14, 2019 - April 03, 2019
10:00 AM - 11:00 AM

Cost: $5 donate per week
Class Leader: Sheri Scanlon

Contact Name: Peter Hafften
Contact Phone: 218-623-7800

Monday, January 14, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Wednesday, January 16, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, January 21, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Wednesday, January 23, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, January 28, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Wednesday, January 30, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, February 4, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Wednesday, February 6, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, February 11, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Wednesday, February 13, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, February 18, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Wednesday, February 20, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, February 25, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Wednesday, February 27, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, March 4, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Wednesday, March 6, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, March 11, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Wednesday, March 13, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, March 18, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, March 25, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Wednesday, March 27, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, April 1, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Wednesday, April 3, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM

Tai Ji Quan: Moving for Better Balance® (TJQMBB) is an evidence-based fall prevention program designed for older adults developed by Fuzhong Li, Ph.D., Senior Scientist at the Oregon Research Institute. TJQMBB represents a substantive enhancement of traditional Tai Ji Quan as it transforms martial arts movements into a therapeutic regimen aimed at improving postural stability, awareness and mindful control of body positioning, functional walking, movement symmetry and coordination, range of motion around the ankle and hip joints and lower - extremity muscle strength.

Notes:
The class will be held twice per week at the Evergreen Senior Center in West Duluth. Contact Peter Hafften at 218-623-7800 for more information and to registration.

Register
Previous 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 Next